The Irish Academy of Engineering

Welcome to the Irish Academy of Engineering

The main aim of the Academy is to use the unique knowledge and experience of its eminent members to provide independent advice to Government on issues where technology plays a key role in successfully implementing socio-economic policy initiatives.

President John McGowan presenting parchments to the recently elected new members of the IAE

Prof. Andrew J. Deeks, BE, MSc, PhD, FIEAus

President, University College Dublin

Prof. Vincent Fusco, Bsc, PhD, DSc, CEng, FREng, FIEEE, FIET, MRIA

Professor of High Frequency Electronic Engineering, Queen's University Belfast

Dr. Pat Kenny, BE, MEngSc, CEng, FIEI, DSc (Hon)

Chartered Engineer and Broadcaster

Dr. Ronald Cox presenting the Prof. John de Courcy Testimonial Award to Dr. Philip Donald in recognition of outstanding contribution to engineering heritage.

Dublin Castle Symposium on Economic & Infrastructure Development supporting the National Planning Framework, May 17th 2016

To see the Symposium summary report please click here and to access the six papers that were presented please click here.

President of the Academy

Eoin O'Driscoll


Eoin O’Driscoll is Chairman of the Tyndall National Institute. Eoin is a Governor of the Irish Times Trust, a member of the Board of Directors of the Irish Times Ltd, the Cork University Foundation.

Eoin was previously a Senior Vice President with Lucent Technologies Inc. He served as Chairman of Forfas, the SWS Group, e|net and Shenick Network Systems and as a member of the Board of Science Foundation Ireland, Trinity College Institute of Neuroscience and as President of the American Chamber of Commerce in Ireland. In 2004 Eoin chaired the government Enterprise Strategy Group.