Past Presidents

2017 Eoin O'Driscoll, BE MSc CEng FIEI FIAE Chairman of the Tyndall National Institute. Eoin is a Governor of the Irish Times Trust, a member of the Board of Directors of the Irish Times Ltd, the Cork University Foundation.
Eoin was previously a Senior Vice President with Lucent Technologies Inc. He served as Chairman of Forfas, the SWS Group, e|net and Shenick Network Systems and as a member of the Board of Science Foundation Ireland, Trinity College Institute of Neuroscience and as President of the American Chamber of Commerce in Ireland. In 2004 Eoin chaired the government Enterprise Strategy Group.
2015 -2016 John McGowan, BE MSc CEng FIEI FIAE Graduated from UCG, in 1970 and completed a Master degree in vibration analysis at TCD. Worked initially with Tipperary SR Council and then as a design engineer with Nicholas O’Dwyer Consulting Engineer and Jacobs Engineering on EPCM projects. The latter included the design and construction of a large potash plant in the Dead Sea valley and increasingly complex pharma and micro-electronic projects in Ireland and the UK.
He project managed the EPCM of Fab 10 at the Intel development at Leixlip, after which he joined Intel. They sent him to their semi-conductor manufacturing plants at Oregon and New Mexico, leading to his appointment as GM at their Leixlip plant. He was later appointed Vice-President of the TM Group, followed by leading Corporate Services group in Phoenix AZ.After 13 years with Intel he left to join the firm of McNamara Construction as MD, responsible for multiple major commercial developments in Ireland, until 2009. Following this he took directorships in various engineering consultancies and pro-bono bodies such as Sligo IT Governing Body and CITA.

He is a former President of Engineers Ireland and currently advisor to companies who are expanding outside Ireland.
2014 Mr. Don Moore BE, CEng, FIEI, FIAE Don Moore is a graduate of University College Cork in Civil Engineering.

He is a former Managing Director of ESB International. He has worked on energy sector projects in more than 60 countries in Europe, Asia, North American and Africa.

He is a Past-President of the Irish Exporters' Association.
2013 Mr.Jonathan Hegan MBE, MSc, DIC, CEng FIEI, FIAE, FICE Jonathan is a Chartered Civil Engineer and a Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers and of the Institution of Engineers of Ireland.He is a graduate of the Queen' s University of Belfast and Imperial College London.He has enjoyed a varied career, working in London, for a period of 9 years, with Binnie and Partners(now part of Black and Veach), Sir Robert McAlpine and Costain International and in 1979 he moved to the Middle East.There he worked with the Government of Oman for three years and then with Turner Wright and Partners(Consultants), before returning to Ireland in 1986 to work with Arups in Dublin.He joined Kirk McClure Morton(KMM) Consulting Engineers, Belfast, in 1988 where he worked with both the Private and Public Sectors. Jonathan became a Partner of KMM in 1992 and was appointed Senior Partner in 2000.He supervised the merger of the Firm with RPS in 2004 and was Chairman of RPS (Northern Ireland) until he retired in 2008.Jonathan is a former Chairman of the Institution of Civil Engineers(Northern Ireland) and Engineers Ireland(NI).He is the immediate past Chairman of the Titanic Foundation, the owners of the Titanic Belfast Building.
2012, 2011 Dr.Tony Barry BE CEng HonFIEI FIAE
Dr.Tony Barry a civil engineer by profession was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by his alma mater, University College Cork, in 1995 in recognition of his major contribution to Irish industrial development.After working as a civil engineer in a range of countries in his early years, he joined Roadstone and worked with them for 35 years becoming Chief Executive and, subsequently, Chairman of CRH.Dr.Barry is a former President of IBEC.He was Chairman and Director of Greencore plc and Director of the Bank of Ireland and a number of other leading Irish companies.He has also served on the Childrens ' Medical and Research Foundation, Co-operation Ireland and the Cork University Foundation.
2010 Mr. Jack Golden BE MEngSc CEng FIEI FIAE Jack Golden has a BE and MEngSc from UCD. He has worked in the USA, Germany, France and Ireland in industries from metal processing to electrical appliances, food and building materials. He spent six years with Continental AG as MD of Semperit Ireland and subsequently of Continental Pneus in France. He is currently Group HR Director of CRH plc, which employs 80,000 people in 35 countries worldwide. He is a Past-President of Engineers Ireland and the Germin-Irish Chamber of Industry and Commerce and a Council Member of the Dublin Chamber of Commerce.
2009, 2008 Mr. Michael Hayden BE MIE CEng FIEI FIAE ESB Executive Director; MD of ESB International Chairman NCEA/FAS - EITC/NCVA Electronics Panel.
2007 Prof. Eric Beatty OBE CEng FIEI FIAE FIMech E He has been involved in technology transfer, innovation and industrial development for over 40 years. As Director of the Northern Ireland Technology Centre and latterly as Director of the University's Regional Office he has been responsible for establishing and directing many of the links between Queen's University and industry.
2006 Dr. Finbar Callanan BE MAI CEng FIEI Eur Ing FIAE FICE FIE(Aus) Reg Cons Secretary of The Academy 1997--2004 Former Director General The Institution of Engineers of Ireland Past President The Institution of Engineers of Ireland 1974-75 Former Chief Civil Engineer, Bord na Mona.
2005 Mr. Patrick Lynch BE CEng FIEI MS MIE A former President of the Institution of Engineers of Ireland - was MD of Irish Shell from 1990-1996, having previously served in various company positions in Ireland and the UK since 1982. Prior to joining Shell, he served as Programme Director with the National Board for Science and Technology, as well as Co. Engineer in Counties Limerick and Galway. He has several non-executive Directorships including CIE, FAS (Chairman), Aughinish Alumina, and was the Chairman of the IBEC Transport Council for a number of years. He is currently chairman of the Linkage Programme of Business in the Community (Ireland), and Chairman of Dublin City Enterprise Board.
2004 Mr. Liam Connellan BE Eur Ing CEng FIEI FIAE President of The Academy 2004 Company Director Former Chairman of the National Roads Authority Former Director General The Confederation of Irish Industry Past President The Institution of Engineers of Ireland (2001-2002).
2003 Prof. Gerry Byrne BSc.MSc MA Eur Ing CEng FIEI FIAE FIEE FIMechE President of the Academy 2003 Professor of Mechanical Engineering University College Dublin Past President The Institution of Engineers of Ireland (2000-2001). 
2002 Prof. Jane Grimson BA BAI MSc PhD Eur Ing CEng FIEI FIAE President of the Academy 2002 Vice Provost Trinity College Dublin Professor of Computer Science Past President The Institution of Engineers of Ireland (1999-2000).

2001, 2000 Dr. Gordon Millington OBE BSc Eur Ing C Eng FIEI FIAE FIStructE Hon FICE FIHT MASCE President of The Academy 2000 and 2001 Former Chairman and Managing Director, Kirk McClure and Morton-Belfast Former Vice president The Institution of CIvil Engineers London Past President The Institution of Engineers of Ireland (1997-1998).
1999 Mr. Philip Callery ME Eur Ing C Eng FIEI FIAE FIHT MIWEM President of The Academy 1999 Consulting Engineer Former County Engineer Wexford Past President The Institution of Engineers of Ireland (1996-1997) 1998, 1997
1998, 1997 Mr. John Killeen BE MIE Eur Ing C Eng FIEI FIAE President of The Academy 1997 and 1998 Managing Director Colas (Ireland )Ltd Past President The Institution of Engineers of Ireland (1995- 1996)